Today is the Fourth of July

I’ve been an expert at accepting unnecessary complications into my life. But lately I flirt with simplicity…

Which is to say that I am half-assedly hitting on Simplicity to see if Simplicity demonstrates even a mild interest in me, or to draw out enough facts to piece together whether or not Simplicity already has a boyfriend…

Which is actually to say that, as with any new crush, I flirt with Simplicity in the most awkward and tentative way possible…at least initially. My flirtation chops don’t really kick in until the second or third conversation.

Today is the Fourth of July. Independence Day. Since the previous entry into this record, my magnificent nephew was born, I finished the coursework for my master’s degree, I convinced my bosses to hire me at a full-time appointment, and I drove to Winnipeg to attend my grandfather’s funeral.

A few words about my grandfather: Among all of his many grandchildren, I like to think of myself as the one who is most like him. He lived, he laughed and – most definitely – he loved. We should all be so lucky.

Indeed, there’s the matter of the girl. I’ve begun a new relationship, which has been more tortoise than hare. That’s a good thing for someone with my history, although I have to admit that the slow burn is not something that comes naturally to me. Some sort of self-reckoning is occurring. There are a number of things in my life that are imperfect in this way.

Ah, but it’s the summertime: I should devote more time to simplicity; I should be celebrating some sort of independence; I should be enjoying myself.

To that end, in fewer than 36 hours, I will be playing music with Jeff and Mike. If you know me well, then you know how monumental an experience this is to me. The Jagged Trio has its first show in over two years.

God bless the USA!

[6]

~ by TGV on July 4, 2007.

Leave a Reply

 
