On feeling like all that education was worth it

I’m defending my thesis next week. And though I can have only a measure of confidence about its outcome, I’m more certain that any remaining analyses and revisions to my paper, from this point forward, will be done little more lightness, and little more breath. The job hunt has begun; so for posterity’s sake, allow me to make another list:

Things that really should be part of my next work situation

  • More reading, analysis and writing
  • Less computing and data managing
  • Social value
  • At least as much time spent working with people as is spent in front of a computer
  • The absence of others doing the same job, but with way fewer credentials
  • Being sent places to talk about the work we do, and to learn about the work of others
  • Some meaningful supervisory duties
  • A hot salary and benefits
  • Some sort of realistic career advancement infrastructure

Oh, and a couple of things that would be nice, but are not absolutely necessary…

  • Funny, smart, loud people
  • And more dudes…who are somewhat close to my age
  • International travel
  • Not a cubicle farm
  • Some sort of realistic career advancement infrastructure…that doesn’t involve going to school AGAIN

And a couple of things that are likely in my head…like

  • Knowing I’m not too old to be where I’m at
  • Feeling like all that education was worth it

Let’s just see.

[6]

~ by TGV on November 18, 2008.

2 Responses to “On feeling like all that education was worth it”

  1. Good luck on your defense. Self-edification is always worth it, though the validation through salary is always nice.

  2. Thanks! The defense was just fine (re: next post). The adventure continues from here, I suppose!

Leave a Reply

 
